Adina Huza email@example.com |
Old CourtThe Old Court
Lying in the historical center of Bucharest, The Old Court is situated in
an area crossed by charming narrow streets, wearing the names of the old
craft, communities or guilds: Selari (sandle makers), Caldauni (copper -
smiths), Zarafi (usures), Cavafii Vechi (shoe makers), Covaci (black
smiths). Ranking high among the attraction of the medieval center, there
are vestiges of the old princely palace, whose ruins were discovered in 1958.
The oldest document attesting the city's origin under the name of
Bucuresti (Bucharest), was also discovered here. It was issued on 20
September 1459 by Prince Vlad Tepes - Vlad the Impaler, our famous "Dracula".
The documents describe the flourishing time beginning with the 16th century,
when the Princely Court became an official residence of the Vallchian
princes. Constantin Brancoveanu (1688-1714) and later, Stefan Cantacuzino
(1714-1715) ennobled the palace by building stone columns, marble staircases,
valuable decorations and paintings. Other attractions are: the church "Buna Vestire"
or "Sfantul Anton", representing the oldest ecclesiastic edifice in the city,
built by prince Mircea Ciobanul in 1659, and Hanul lui Manuc (Manuc`s Inn), built
between 1804 and 1808, the only inn that has resisted the vicissitudes of time.
It was a large inner courtyard with timber arcades. It was renovated
between 1968 and 1970 regaining its original function as a hotel. Another
interesting attractoin to be found in Covaci Street, is "Cafeneaua Veche" (the
Old Cafe) - a place where, after 1801, important people of Bucharest's
"Old Bohemia" used to meet. Every summer, since 1995, the Old Court area
has hosted the carnival "Bucurestii la 1900" (Bucharest in the 1900),
reviving the old traditions and atmosphere of the turn if antury.
"Alexandru Papiu Ilarian" Highschool Dej, Romania
Coordinator teacher: Cornelia Platon